How do you get consistent cones?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Eddie

Eddie
  • Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 January 2018 - 07:05 PM

I'm new to this.Have been enjoying shooting the blowgun and darts I made but all of my cones are different lengths. What's a east way to make paper cones and them all be the same size? Mine are still fairly accurate but I could fine tune the accuracy if I could get some consistency.

#2 JTslinger

JTslinger
  • Registered Approved
  • 131 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 22 January 2018 - 11:41 PM

Run to a hardware store and get a plumbob.
  • THWACK! likes this

#3 Slingshot Silas

Slingshot Silas
  • Registered
  • 16 posts

Posted 29 January 2018 - 02:02 AM

And then...........?

#4 JTslinger

JTslinger
  • Registered Approved
  • 131 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 31 January 2018 - 10:00 AM

Use that to form the cone with paper or thin duct tape.

#5 Ridge Runner

Ridge Runner
  • Registered
  • 40 posts

Posted 02 January 2019 - 03:46 PM

To make hollow film cones: An alternative to cork style bore seals.

• Select and set up a proper cone form. Some have successfully used items such as a Plumb bob, Funnel, form molded in a countersink hole or from some other existing cone shaped item. If you have a male form and want a female form make the required form from the available form.  
  • Select your forming material. Some possibilities include: Sheet protectors, Parchment, Vellum, Tyvek, Paper, etc. If using tape you will modify these instructions significantly.
  • Form your initial cone with the tail longer than required around the entire perimeter. 
  • Make adjustments to the shape of the angle at the point of the cone to provide the amount of overlap you desire for adhesive bond.
  • Form the first cone with mild adhesive or temporary tape.
  • Place your blowgun over the cone and mark where the cone meets the blowgun bore. Often accomplished by pressing lightly and twisting contact.