16 replies to this topic

#1 NightKnight

NightKnight

250 Club

• Administrators
  • PipPip
  • 344 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 09:47 AM

Let's talk about Hunting with a blowgun. What are the factors that need to be taken into account. I am hoping that some of our more experienced members can share their thoughts. Some examples of what I am looking to discuss is:
Is aiming different than target shooting due to elevation differences?
What is the minimum dart weight that should humanely be used for a quick kill?
Does blowgun length play a part in being more effective in hunting?

Please share your thoughts on hunting with blowguns.

#2 Carbon

Carbon
  • Registered
  • 184 posts
  • LocationWashington

Posted 08 January 2013 - 03:11 PM

I'm not experienced but I would never hunt with a blowgun with just plain darts. I don't think I could consistently get a clean kill without poison. Even with my sharpened nail darts the most I could expect to kill would be a small bird like a Starling.

• neondog likes this

#3 Cervantes

Cervantes
  • Registered
  • 48 posts
  • LocationTEXAS

Posted 08 January 2013 - 06:07 PM

A coworker of mine shot a squirrel with one of the coldsteel babmoo darts and it penetrated it in the right hip. Went in about 2-3 inches.

In Crosby TX, if you have fruit trees then you have tree rats..so it was not a hunt per se, but the animal is eadible (I've had plenty of squirrel from my back yard), but it was an attempt at a kill. To kill anything larger than a rat, you need to pierce the heart or lungs, or use a broad head to cause it to bleed out. This squirrel went into hig gear and was gone, never to be seen again..well we were lookikng for the squirrel with a handle hanging out of its rear.

#4 curare-five-oh

curare-five-oh
  • Registered
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:30 AM